She’s Crafty: Easy Shell Edging for Your Granny Square

9 Mar

As part of my Yellow Belt crochet training – I’ve been working to learn and perfect the Granny Square. With a few not so great squares, but some other beauties – I felt that it was time to finish what I had done. Not entirely happy with my joining technique (it’s all about the colour!) – I decided that a simple edging would help save this half blanket / half center piece.

The best (and easiest) option I could find was this Shell Border – which just involves more Double Crochet – but scrunched up to create the shell effect.

Overall – I was quite pleased with the finished product:

 

 

The Double Crochet Shell Border

The Double Crochet Shell Border

 

 

The only issue was that once completed it made the blanket curl up at the edges a bit too much. Perhaps next time I’ll try 4 stitches in each space rather than 5.

 

But overall I’m pretty chuffed with my first completed Granny Square project – and it now sits proudly on our bookshelf:

 

Completed Granny Square

My First Completed Granny Square Project

Robot Rating: 7.5 / 10 (Would have been an 8 if it wasn’t for the curling)
 

One Response to “She’s Crafty: Easy Shell Edging for Your Granny Square”

  1. Kate March 10, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    It’s adorable! I love the edging – crochet always looks so charming. (And I love the record-bowl!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

