She’s Crafty: Double Crochet & The Granny Square

25 Feb

 

The next skill in my Ninja Crochet training regime has been to master the famous ‘Granny Square’.

Once the stable of any good 1970s wardrobe, the Granny Square is what most people seem to associate with Crochet.

Granny Square

The Granny Square

Using the Chain Stitch and Double Crochet – in theory this seemed a simple enough challenge for me to take on… determined to blog about my success only once I’d mastered the perfect Granny Square – the delay in Crochet Blog posts should be a good indication of how long it actually took me to work out how to construct.

Using only the tutorials provided on YouTube and various Google Searches – I soon realised that there isn’t an agreed on way to make a Granny Square; with different people preferring varying numbers of stitches to make up the corners, a mix of techniques to increase rows, numbers of stitches across the non-corner sections and how to change colours.

To be honest – I nearly got to the point of tears…. until I stumbled across Melbournian Pip Lincolne and her blog ‘Meet Me At Mikes’.

Her series of Granny Square tutorial videos were the most easy to follow I’ve seen – and the time she has taken to video each section of the Granny Square in beautiful slow motion was my saviour.

The end results should hopefully speak for themselves – with the end goal to construct enough squares to make my own retro couch blanket.

Granny Square
The Perfect Granny Square In Progress
Granny Squares

Final Results - So Many Granny Squares!

Any additional Granny Square tips? Let me know!

 

 

6 Responses to “She’s Crafty: Double Crochet & The Granny Square”

  1. pip February 25, 2011 at 3:09 am #

    OHMIGOD! Look at you go! I am so proud of you! I knew you could do it!!!! So so so so so great! These are so lovely. Bloody well done YOU! xx

  2. chloerobot February 25, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    You should have seen my first 5 attempts. Your videos were amazing. Thanks for the help!

  3. Jordan February 25, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    You so totally rock! I’m so glad. I’m working on mini Tetris Granny Sqare play blankets for the twins now. Hope you’re well. X J

    • chloerobot February 25, 2011 at 4:51 am #

      Ooooh. Awesome. Let me know if it’s a 2Player Pattern!!! Can’t wait to see. We’ll blog it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. She’s Crafty: How to Join All of those Granny Squares « Chloerobot's Blog - March 4, 2011

    […] Mar So I managed to master the art of the basic Granny Square – so my next Crochet Ninja challenge was to work out how […]

  2. She’s Crafty: Easy Shell Edging for Your Granny Square « Chloerobot's Blog - March 9, 2011

    […] part of my Yellow Belt crochet training – I’ve been working to learn and perfect the Granny Square. With a few not so great squares, but some other beauties – I felt that it was time […]

Leave a Reply

